top of page

Ngā Maunga Tapu


The Tongariro National Park is centred around the three peaks of Tongariro i.e. Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu.

A tuku (an act of customary lore) of the mountain peaks was made in 1887 by Ngāti Tūwharetoa Chief Horonuku te Heuheu Tukino IV to the Crown, at the time Queen Victoria of England. The intent of the tuku was to enter into a partnership with the Crown to ensure the continued protection of Tongariro. Entering the summit area (peaks) is prohibited. 

The mountains of Tongariro is Aotearoa’ (New Zealand’s) most continuously active volcanic area with a frequency of eruptions, a highly explosive nature, and active vents. 

Another outstanding natural feature of the area is the unusual interplay of volcanic and glacial processes on Ruapehu. It’s Crater Lake is one of only two of its type in the world where magma and glacial melt-water interact to give rise to spectacular eruptions. To really experience the power and beauty of these amazing volcanic wonders, you just have to be here!

Maunga 1.jpg
Maunga 8.jpg
bottom of page